My Experience with Buying an Electric Tankless Water Heater

January 3, 2013

It has been a while since I last posted but I had taken a break from blogging and focused on getting my life in order; sorting out work life, private life but now that is all in order I can now get back to stuff that has peaked my interest. A couple of months my huge 30 gallon tank water heater was on the blink – meaning it was just about done. This is when I took it upon my self to go out shopping online to find a replacement that would match my needs. I’m very fussy when it comes to expensive purchases online so here are my thoughts regarding a purchase of a water heater and hope it helps someone in the same position.

 Electric Water Heater

My house is a medium sized building with 3 bedrooms and two bathrooms. I had the previous 30 gallon tank when I moved in 5 years ago. It looked pretty worn out then so you can imagine what it was like just before it finished up on me. It was a big, old ugly thing that took up the majority of my cupboard, where I struggled to store anything else but this big, ugly water heater. A couple of months ago I switched my tap on to wash the dishes and there was no hot water. After phoning a technician they said it was finished and that I needed a new one. I was pretty gutted when I was given this news because I knew I was going to have to fork out quite a lot of cash for a replacement. But I bit the bullet and started investigating for a replacement.

After doing quite a bit of research I worked out I was spending far too much on my energy bills as this was an inefficient tank water heater. So basically throughput the day the heater would heat up water just in case in needed the hot water which of course was costing me money so decided to go with a tankless water heater. These systems only heat up water when requested ie when you turn the tap on or the shower, the tankless immediately heats up water. This I worked out would save not only energy but also money which of course impressed me. I didn’t buy any tankless but an electric water heater. Research has shown these new electric tankless water heaters can save up to 80% in energy. So even though this was costing quite a lot up front, I worked out this new system was actually saving me money every year. After 5 years I would make my money back. I was delighted when I worked this out.

So basically if you have an old hot water heater costing you a lot of money each year on your heating bills, you should consider changing over to a new, efficient tankless electric water heater which may seem costly at first but will save you money in the long run.

Leave a comment